Consumer Reports‎ www.consumerreports.org/

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Consumer Reports‎?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Consumer Reports‎ to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Vance Publishing Corporation

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
March 2017

The CEO is an 85 year old gentleman. As a woman, you just have to be extremely deferential to HIM. Most women there call him Mr. - and not his first name.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
$0-$10k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews
Culture
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Maybe. Good salaries, great benefits -- not micromanaged.
Improve my compensation

St. Martin's Press

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
March 2017

Working here is like being part of a family- faults and all.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion
Hours, Culture
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Once you are at a certain level you are granted much more flexibility. They are very respectful of work-life balance.
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

Euromoney

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

I have been in this company for 8 years. Started in its Regional Latam Office in Argentina in 2008. Worked 2 years homeoffice from Argentina and then got tranfered to NYC March 2013. The knowledge and expertise in the culture and how to do business in Latam and US is pricesless.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Yes
Improve my compensation

LVE, LLC

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

I'm the owner of a small business, which allows me to control my own hours, but because I do everything myself, it doesn't leave me much time outside of work. Additionally, I am responsible for my own health benefits. For now, Obamacare is more affordable than a private health plan.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Harvard Business Publishing

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

Depending on the department, generally HBP is majority-women and has a ton of people who work 100% remotely. Upper management is fairly white-old-men though, which is too bad (but I think changing).

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Yes
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Mexico Business Publishing

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
February 2017

Women are not discriminated against in terms of positions of power, promotions or salary, however there is a culture of men obtaining more opportunities.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$0-$25k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Maybe. Sometimes culture can be very male-oriented
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Macmillan

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
February 2017

If you have a fmaily this would not be a good company. Although they say that they respect work-life balance, they don't. They expect you to answer emails until 11pm at night if not later. Also, had to get up a few time at 4:30am to attend meetings from across the UK. It was okay for me, but then had to go into the office afterwards.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews
Hours, Policies
Maybe. If you want to stay in the position where you are definitely this is the company for you. Also, if you're single and don't have a serious relationship this would also be the perfect company for you.
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Wenner Media LLC

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
January 2017

They're not age-friendly, after people were purged, younger editors were hired.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Yes
I was downsized, so I don't know if it would count. Perhaps make retraining an option instead of just firing people...

Pearson Education

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.1
47%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
41% would recommend
to other women
October 2016

Flexible to work for. Casual dress. Management in my case is easy to talk with.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve my compensation

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
50%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% would recommend
to other women
September 2016

Schedule can be very flexible, depending on the position. Many women executive roles.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
13 paid / unpaid
Combination of short term disability, 1 fully paid week from the company, and banked OA and vacation time.
Yes
Hours, Culture
Yes
Improve my compensation

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Facebook
Twitter
Share with Friends
Share Anonymously