Giant Bomb www.giantbomb.com/

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Giant Bomb?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Giant Bomb to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Time Inc.

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
62%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
69% would recommend
to other women
11/16/16, 6:43 AM

Things can work out, but the flexibility within the company is a little off right now. Definitely not somewhere I'd recommend if you're going to need time off in the near future.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Maybe. I would recommend going back to TimeInc, but I specifically had a female employer who felt threatened by other women and made life hard for people all around her.
Improve my compensation

The Walt Disney Company

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
61%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
10/31/16, 3:01 AM

It's difficult to move up the chain and if you have a quiet demeanor that is seen as negative

Job Satisfaction Level
2.0
$50k-$80k
$0-$10k
None taken
Not for Promotion
No
No
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

NBCUniversal

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
44%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
69% would recommend
to other women
8/28/16, 12:47 PM

Coming from another leading company in the media industry, it was refreshing to see how open NBC was--I feel like I can speak my mind and be supported, they have many different opportunities for learning, networking, expanding your skills, and they embrace diversity. From my experience in negotiating my salary, I still think the gender pay wage gap exists here though. While HR wasn't willing to expand upon whether or not NBC is working to close this, they worked with me so that I was satisfied with my final compensation package.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay
Hours, Culture
Yes
Improve my compensation

Chicago Tribune Media Group

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
8/24/16, 10:17 AM

Make sure you have or gain the expertise you need to succeed quickly, and you have a boss who values it. BTW, make sure at the outset the boss/management/culture of your immediate workplace within the company is something you can deal with, because the compensation will never be adequate enough for you to justify working in a less than hospitable workplace.

Job Satisfaction Level
2.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Why does it always come down to maternity leave? There are other reasons having to do with family healthcare and associated critical situations that are requiring more working women of various age groups to take leave--- and too many companies either don't have pro isions for it, won't work to retain talent through it or won't obligate themselves to implement ethical policies or federal state or local laws with regard to paid sick time, ST disability or FMLA. If there is no union to represent you, you are out of luck and out of pocket.
Not for Evaluation and Reviews
No
Maybe. So much of employee performance, produ tion and policy decisions are not managed at the higher corporate levels where standsrds and accountability are more seriously paid attention to. Too much of what decides an employee's fate or fortune is punted back to a direct supervisor or unit manager-- and heaven help you if that boss has a personal agenda and is free to micro manage you within their own set of rules.
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

The Walt Disney Company

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
61%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
8/21/16, 2:32 PM

I love my job 95% of the time...sometimes it's stressful, but I can continuously reframe my attitudes and perspectives for my own balance and success. This is a review of a Disney Store

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

The Walt Disney Company

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
61%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
8/21/16, 12:04 PM

There are upsides to working for TWDC like their benefits, flexible hours, and perks - but there is also a double standard for men and women when it comes to career mobility, and one must have a lot of patience and be willing to work twice as hard for half the recognition. You must be able to speak up for yourself and have a willingness to ask for what you believe you deserve, sometimes twice or three times, and really stay on them to deliver. Finding a mentor, or an executive that you trust that will also repeatedly go to bat for you is crucial for your success - if it happens to be a man, all the better. There is definitely a 'good ole' boys' culture to a certain degree. And know that HR reps are in place to protect the company more so than they are there to protect you.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion
Hours, Culture
Maybe. Depending on their line of work, and their willingness to work twice as hard for half the recognition. There are upsides to working for TWDC, but there is also a double standard for men and women when it comes to career mobility, and one must have a lot of patience. This is a review of The Disney Music Group
Promote more women into leadership positions

Meredith Corporation

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
40% would recommend
to other women
8/10/16, 2:14 PM

Great opportunities if you're willing to prioritize your professional life over your personal life, but those who want balance will have to look elsewhere.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Maybe. Great opportunities if you're willing to prioritize your professional life over your personal life, but those who want balance will have to look elsewhere.
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Time Inc.

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
62%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
69% would recommend
to other women
8/7/16, 11:25 AM

We have women in leadership positions but not enough. They are looking for a bit of a cookie cutter type of person. Not enough room for cultural differences

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$100k-$150k
$20k-$50k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion
Culture, Policies
Yes
Opportunities for promotion

NBCUniversal

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
44%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
69% would recommend
to other women
8/4/16, 2:21 PM

Very women-heavy in entry- and mid-level positions but very male dominant at the top still. In my current role, my hourly pay rate is non-negotiable so I don't have to worry about being paid less than a man, but I am not sure how that changes once one becomes salaried and pay is up for negotiation. That said, many older women on my team have been very pleased with the paid maternity leave policy - several were on leave SIMULTANEOUSLY and their roles were temporarily backfilled and guaranteed upon their return, One was even promoted just before her leave, and barely had time to start her new role before taking the time off - great to see she was still promoted and that didn't influence the decision.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve my compensation

Discovery Communications

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
50%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
8/3/16, 10:29 AM

It is a good company to work for if you are a woman and if you have kids but the salary could be better

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$80k-$100k
$0-$10k
None taken
Not for Pay, Hiring
No
Yes
Improve my compensation

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Share with Friends
Share Anonymously