Hammacher Schlemmer & Co. Inc.

www.hammacher.com/

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Hammacher Schlemmer & Co. Inc. to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Lifespan Brands LLC Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

I think Lifespan Brands is set in its "old school ways" The CEO was pretty unschooled in workplace manners and his jokes often bordered on offensive/harassment.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Hiring

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    This employer did not offer work at home option- and my job was one where you could work at home.

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Loblaws City Market Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

Do not work for this employer, They are very unreasonable and unfair and won't provide you training.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Friendly punctual worker

Mary Kay Inc. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

June 2017

Mary Kay is an awesome place to work for. It values women and can be flexible with schedules.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Southwest Specialty Products Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

June 2017

With his background, he has a very different outlook on women's abilities He has that "old generation" attitude even though he is younger. He is not originally from the US, so that makes a lot of the difference

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Hiring

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Listen to my wisdom and experiences. I have much more I could be doing but he does not allow me to try new ideas. He always shoots down my suggestions.

Saneal Camera Supplies Ltd Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

May 2017

RUN. There are much better opportunities out there with employers that legitimately care about their employees. This company is all about being cheap as possible, racist, and sexist.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    When asked to not work the manager who was sexually harrassing me no hours were cut from his schedule but all of mine were. I went from full time to 6.5 hrs a week

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not sexually harass their employees. Not cut my hours after I make a complaint

Just Imagine Toys LLC Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

May 2017

This employer started out as my dream job but then drastically fell apart. My boss slapped my behind and smoked pot in the basement. I left after he fired an excellent dependable coworker when she announced her pregnancy after years of trying.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    The owner fired an all star employee after he found out she was pregnant.

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

LovelySkin Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

One of the things that really sets this company apart from others is that the majority of the staff are women. There are many entry-level positions with a great opportunity to grow. It's easy to learn skills on the job and if you're willing to put in a lot of hard work, you can move up in the company over time. The biggest perks include great bonuses, raises, healthcare benefits, retirement plan and profit sharing. Management is very invested in the success of the staff.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    Paid maternity leave is not available, but you can take out short-term disability at a monthly cost to you. If you have health troubles while pregnant (bed rest, miscarriage, etc.), management is incredibly understanding and flexible to your needs.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    It's important to establish your work-life balance from day one. Flexible hours and regular lunch breaks are discouraged. Upon interviewing, HR touts work from home "rewards," but working from home isn't an option unless it's in addition to your regular 40+ hours. Management can be insensitive and occasionally expects team members to be available at all times, including nights and weekends. It's okay to let them know they're asking for too much of your personal time.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

The Grommet Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

April 2017

Be wary of allowing yourself to be pidgeon holed by management. There is a strong barrier to getting promoted above Senior Management level and growth can stagnate there.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Evaluation and Reviews

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    The company is unevenly flexible for work-life balance.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. The company is run by two women and 70% women in the workplace. However much of the feedback I have received has been sexist in nature from my female managers. I cannot speak to other teams within the company however.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

APF Munn Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

April 2017

Please demand the pay you are worth to do your job in a frustrating environment. I earned 1/3 of the salary my male counterpart did, while doing more of the work and having more skills. (i know this because the payroll sheet got accidentally filed into a folder i received)

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Just Imagine Toys LLC Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

March 2017

I found out I was pregnant and told my boss and then he told me he would replace me with someone who was not pregnant. Pregnancy would not change anything in this retail job of mine. I personally feel I was fired because he did not like the fact that I had a baby in me.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    I was fired when I told my boss I was pregnant

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously