Laird Norton Company

www.lairdnorton.com/

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Laird Norton Company to join us.

In the meantime, see other recent reviews

CareFirst, Inc. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

October 2017

It's a really great place to work, especially if you desire to grow in your career. It seems that solid work is rewarded well, however I realize that within the organization, the culture of each group may be different.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not much; it's a great place to work

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

PCORI is a very warm, friendly place to work where people support each other and treat each other kindly. People work together on projects for the most part and depending on the position, there are lot of opportunities for growth. They also frequently higher people to new positions from within.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    The place itself is not bad, but I am mismatched for the work. However, I will also say that while I am mismatched for the work which isn't PCORI's fault, I also don't feel that I get a lot of opportunities to learn new skills around the work that I do.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

Jamie's Interiors Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

March 2017

You better have a lot of time to spend doing this, I cover 13 states in a truck decorating homes. Long hours, long days and then you go to sleep in a hotel and stay you will do until the job is done.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

Greystone Properties Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2016

Have to be in with the right people to move up

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Big Spaceship Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

February 2016

Below-industry /market salary ranges for women, with little chance to have them reviewed

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    10 hours

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe.

Cordell & Cordell Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

January 2016

I worked with Cordell for 4 years as an associate attorney. In general I think the firm treated women fairly by providing adequate maternity leave and opportunities for advancement. Unfortunately the client base is heavily male which impacts the work environment significantly. Although I am a seasoned attorney I was regularly addressed by clients in a patriarchal manner and unable to take any action to address the issue. This imbalance left me frustrated and ultimately caused me to leave the firm.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    10 hours

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe.

Concordia University Chicago Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

September 2015

There are a lot of women in varied roles in the organization ranging from primarily directors to professors. CUC seems to be open to change and to promoting women into the upper echelons. They could be more diverse, but that seems to be changing as well.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    7 hours or fewer

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe.

Geico Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

65%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

39%

would recommend
to other women

August 2015

The good thing about this company is that it does seem to provide the same opportunities for hard working individuals regardless of gender. That being said, the company is severely understaffed when it comes to its claims departments. I have worked in several claims related departments, and in every department I was in, staffing was an issue. With such a large, market predominant company, one would think that they would place a higher priority on getting adequately staffed to boost morale for tenured employees. Many people burnout after awhile because the goals and expectations are unrealistic considering the staffing issues. Good benefits to include paid vacation, 401k (no dollar for dollar matching, though), disability, life insurance, vision, FSA, etc. Not conducive to family oriented individuals - expect long hours and even weekends as a regular occurrence. IF you have children and work on a desk, you will be drained to come home and help them with homework and probably won't have energy to make dinner from scratch. Sick leave is a joke. Sick leave is tied into your dependability score, which is a part of your rating as an associate. If you have poor dependability, it can be grounds for termination. To use sick leave, without being penalized, it needs to meet FMLA guidelines (e.g., a recurrent serious medical condition, pregnancy, etc). Average colds and flus are NOT covered under FMLA, and being that GEICO is a cubicle environment, people who are afraid of their dependability being impacted will come in to the office and expose others to their cold/flu. For those that do not take sick leave and have good dependability, there is no reward other than being able to keep your job. You are not able to cash out your sick or use it for vacation. even if it does qualify for FMLA coverage, you are only allowed 12 weeks of FMLA leave per year, even if you have multiple fmla related incidents come up (let's say you were pregnant, plus had diabetes, or migraines and they each required time off at different times). The sick leave requirements were one of the most complained about issues throughout the company, and has been for years, but no changes.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    $10k-$20k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    10 hours

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    8 paid / 1 unpaid

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe.

Goldman Sachs Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

46%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

59%

would recommend
to other women

March 2015

It's crucial to network, have mentors and sponsors.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $20k-$50k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    9 hours

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    16 paid / 0 unpaid

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe.

RAM Development Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

March 2015

I worked there for quite some time. I feel like management took advantage of my nativity and skills. I was almost running the entire business operations after just a few short months. (I was left completely on my own, to my own devices (which should have tipped me off to how the rest of my employment with them would go)after only being there 3 days. Don't get me wrong, not everything about my experience was bad. The other employees I worked with were mostly enjoyable people. My only complaint was ever with management, or rather lack of it. Even though I put in place several ideas that wound up saving the company money, my ideas and input were rarely ever taken into account or listened to. I'm not saying I have the best or brightest ideas but I think some of them at least deserved more discussion. I guess my issue with this really lies with how much personal pressure that management would put on each employee that the success of the business was up to the employee but then not allowing the employees any input into ideas or policies at all.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Typical Hours (per day)

    8 hours

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously