Mamamia Women's Network http://www.mamamia.com.au

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Mamamia Women's Network?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Mamamia Women's Network to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

XO Group Inc

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% would recommend
to other women
11/12/16, 3:38 AM

Men tend to do better at this company, not because they are men, but because they spend more time working.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$100k-$150k
$0-$10k
8 paid / 4 unpaid
Not for Promotion
Hours, Culture, Policies
Maybe. Depends on department and office location
Promote more women into leadership positions

Rolling Stone

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
10/24/16, 5:10 PM

Before I say anything else I want to be clear that I did really love working here and did really enjoy my job. But I also want to make it clear that it is extremely difficult for women to break into editorial jobs at the magazine. During my many years there, there were only two female editors. And neither were ever given an office. It's a very male-dominated culture, and I don't see that changing anytime soon. Again, I worked with some extremely talented people, and on a day-to-day basis I was usually very happy. But I would say to any woman considering working there: Go in with your eyes open. Get experience, put the name on your resume, and then move on. As for work/life balance, there is very little. The hours are long (as is standard for publishing), and there is no flexibilty with hours or working offsite (although the online department may offer some ability to work from home, not sure).

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$80k-$100k
>$100k
7 paid / 5 unpaid
The company offered 12 weeks maternity leave, but only seven weeks were paid. Six weeks of those seven were paid as part of short-term disability leave (though they were paid at full salary). Since there is a week before disability pay kicks in, they use a weeks' worth of your (10) sick days to cover the first week of your leave. If you had to stop working early, they would take that time out of your 12 weeks. (To be fair, although that is the actual policy, they did let me work from home the week leading up to my due date.) You can also choose to use your vacation days as part of your leave, although you will not receive that pay until you return to work.
Not for Promotion, Hiring
No
No
Promote more women into leadership positions

Domino Media Group

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
10/20/16, 9:09 PM

It's a great place to gain valuable experience and then move on.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion, Hiring
No
Maybe. I would recommend it for entry level women interested in the lifestyle editorial track. It's a great first position.
Promote more women into leadership positions

Fusion Network

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.5
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% might recommend
to other women
8/24/16, 10:52 PM

The women that do work at FUSION are smart, motivated and proactive. Above all, they're passionate about making the workplace and culture desirable for all. It's inspiring to be around them but sometimes it is hard to ignore that there aren't many in senior leadership roles. I hope over time that changes.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion
Hours
Maybe. In some departments, you'll see mostly women. In others, no women. Because there are some inconsistencies, my recommendation would probably be based on job role.
Improve my compensation

Fusion Network

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.5
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% might recommend
to other women
8/23/16, 6:52 AM

This is 100% a male dominated environment- just notice how there are no women in SVP roles or higher. Most meetings don't even include women unless they are there to take notes. Women don't get promoted easily, however, it's not uncommon to see a man get promoted every week. They falsely support women's concerns and questions because ultimately, nothing is done to actually improve the situation. Probably best to work anywhere but here if you are a woman.

Job Satisfaction Level
2.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
Hours
No
Promote more women into leadership positions

Triple Canopy

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
7/10/16, 10:10 PM

No women in positions of influence so policies and culture are not family-friendly

Job Satisfaction Level
2.0
$100k-$150k
$0-$10k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
No
Promote more women into leadership positions

Bleacher Report

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
4/11/16, 7:38 PM

Bleacher Report is the best company I have ever worked for (among about seven) in terms of compensation, equality, respect, and culture. My coworkers are both fun (we have a full bar with arcade games on one floor) and family-focused (at least three men have been out for paternity leave this year and about five people are getting married), while being open to all people and lifestyles. I absolutely love working here!

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
$100k-$150k
$10k-$20k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Long Island Pulse

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
4/9/16, 10:25 PM

n/a

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Culture
Yes
Improve my compensation

Politico

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
1/20/16, 10:46 PM

Worked at Politico for almost three years. It's a very difficult place to work for members of any gender and worse if you are a woman. I tell men not to work there and practically beg women to stay away.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$50k-$80k
$0-$10k
11 hours
None taken
Not for
No
Maybe. Only if you walk in knowing you can only survive a couple of years. They'll drive you crazy while you are there.

Future US

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
1/19/16, 8:21 PM

Our industry is male dominated. Being a woman can work for or against you. Up to you how you play it.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
$20k-$50k
8 hours
None taken
Not for
No
Yes

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Share with Friends
Share Anonymously