Sign Up and Win $500! One new Fairygodboss per month is randomly selected. T&C's apply.

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Penton to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Reed Business Information Ltd Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

June 2017

Some divisions of the parent company, RELX, are very proactive in their diversity and inclusion programs. Others, particularly businesses based in the U.K. do not. It tends to be window dressing and a lot of talk with zero action.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $50k-$75k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Value their people.

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

I have had fantastic opportunities to progress my career and the family friendly benefits are extremely generous

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $10k-$20k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

Be confident and don't be afraid to share your thoughts or to ask.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    There are cultural nuances that come to play which are sometimes quite stringent when it comes to work hours. I'm fortunate to be part of a global team which largely works remotely and that my job is not in Operations which would require me to be at the office all the time.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

The company does great things and really promotes diversity in the workplace. But most of the middle management is your typical mid-40s white man, and it can be hard to have your voice heard if you don't cater to his opinions and idea of what a "successful" person is and how a "successful" person acts.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Depends on the department, but working from home is pretty frowned upon.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. It is a great company and will look really good on your resume. But the industry is male dominated, so the hiring process is, too.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Nielsen Holdings N.V. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.7

74%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

79%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

It's a great place to work - big company that values diversity and lots of opportunity for movement.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    No

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not much; it's a great place to work

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

It's a great employer from a life balance perpsective. You can do interesting work and have a diverse career.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $50k-$75k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Nielsen Holdings N.V. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.7

74%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

79%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

The value diversity at Nielsen, but still have some growth ahead of them.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

Ask about other females in your department and if they transferred in or were hired from outside. Outside hires are paid more.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $20k-$50k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Depends on location

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Depends on role and location

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

January 2017

Thomson Reuters is a huge organization with a history of growing through acquisitions. My personal experience has been of an organization that values diversity and makes an effort to recruit and retain women, especially minority women. There are people in my department who have lived on every continent except Antarctica (and maybe Austrilia). Flexibility and work-life balance here are good, benefits are decent though not as good as they used to be (I've been here more than 10 years), but salary here is not up to par. I enjoy the challenges of the work that I do, and the people I work with, but looking at where my salary falls on Glassdoor and similar sites, compared to others with my experience, is depressing. The annual review and performance increase process implicitly penalizes those who started with a lower salary, since it's percentage based.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    I had a miscarriage, and missed over a week of work in the aftermath. I asked to my (male) manager if I could take that time as paid bereavement leave for the loss of a child. He spoke to someone in HR, and the leave was approved. Note that this is a very specific situation, and a different manager or HR rep might have given a different answer; it's certainly not something that's covered in their searchable policies (for several very understandable reasons).

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Thomson Reuters Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

73%

would recommend
to other women

December 2016

Its a wonderful company to work with. I enjoy much over here.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $10k-$20k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    16 paid / 4 unpaid

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously