Sign Up and Win $500! One new Fairygodboss per month is randomly selected. T&C's apply.

Akima, LLC

www.akima.com/

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Akima, LLC to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Northrop Grumman Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

46%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

46%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

Overall stable job without crazy hours or overload. Great maternity leave policy. There might not be as much career growth as you want since it's part of the defense industry (I felt like this before having kids). But as a busy mom, it might be just enough to balance life out :)

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    6 paid / 6 unpaid

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

50%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

Overt sexism in the workplace may be missing, but there is overall somewhat higher than industry standard dissatisfaction among women staff about performance reviews, which directly impacts pay increases and promotion opportunities. Lab operates with the same policies and procedures as MIT main campus.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    5 days paid parental leave to all employees, and up to 12 weeks paid leave following childbirth for a biological mother. Parental leave options for non-traditional cases unclear

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

BAE Systems Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

13%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

13%

would recommend
to other women

December 2016

Don't expect work life balance, also the maternity leave here is the bare minimum.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    5 paid / 3 unpaid

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

General Atomics Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

August 2016

Leadership style is dictatorship. Opinions are not welcomed. You basically just do your job, (without training), and enter your work hours. There is no motivation at all. People are hired as temps, initially & some are hired permanently. The benefits are great, but the morale is extremely low.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Hiring

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Orbital ATK Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

July 2016

Its a mixed bag, some groups and managers are better than others. Some are great to work with while others are perfectly nice to your face while they undermine you behind your back.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Northrop Grumman Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

46%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

46%

would recommend
to other women

July 2016

Most teams only hire 1 woman to satisfy the quota. The women here are very competitive and will not make your job easier. When it' s time for layoffs, the women are the first to go. Work place culture is quite male oriented. I had people told me directly including other women that i don't read/write code even though i have been working at this company for 20 years + as a software engineer. Work is based on projects so you would have to re-apply and go to job interviews for each project. You may not get hired for the next project even though you are already an employee. Managers expect you to work around the clock with no extra pay 50+ hours a week. Raises are 1 to 2% only. I've been on the same level for 13 years without a promotion in sight. This happens to a lot of co-workers, i am not in the only one. Benefits and anything fun are taken away to remain cost-competitive. The only people that the company likes are college graduates. But once you've been there a few years, they'd like to get rid of you.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    If you have a security clearance and are out for 30 days, the clearance will be dropped. This discourages people from being out too long.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

General Dynamics Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.9

38%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

50%

would recommend
to other women

July 2016

Be prepared to put on your armor each day. If you have a disability they will accommodate you, but you have to fight for it. Be prepared to be told they lost your documents verifying you need for the accommodation each time your team changes.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Only if someone was desperate for a job. If you are not in the right cliques you will not have much chance to advance with the company regardless of education and experience.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    They could improve hiring and get rid of the cliquish mentality. It feels like middle school some days. They could also be better at not discriminating against those with disabilities. In one of my last interviews for a promotion my accommodations came up in the discussion even though they can't ask about that. I'm fairly certain that my disability kept me from getting the job, but I can't prove it.

MIT Lincoln Laboratory Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

50%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

July 2016

I had a two month internship here so don't have all the insight, but my opinions and talent seemed to be respected here. At my first meeting I arrived early so the meeting coordinator was the only other person there and I didn't know where to sit. (I didn't want to 'steal' a seat at the table from someone more important) and he told me 'Always take the best seat in the room', which I thought was awesome advice I'll try to use going forward in my career.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Orbital ATK Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

May 2016

I've been eyed, called a b*tch, and watched male colleagues get promoted before me. It's a place that claims it's diverse but really needs a lot of the "good old boys" to retire to possibly live up to that claim.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Some departments are better than others. But it's hard to see that when you are in the interview process.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

BAE Systems Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

13%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

13%

would recommend
to other women

May 2016

I work in one particular site in the UK which is historically very male orientated, but think this is better at other sites.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    Good policy of paid and unpaid leave and incentives to return to work earlier.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Policies

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve existing male orientated culture

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously