Ancestry.com www.ancestry.com

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Ancestry.com ?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Ancestry.com to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Amazon

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.1
38%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
32% would recommend
to other women
12/7/16, 6:21 AM

You have to be very aggressive and protect your boundaries to spend time with your family. This will likely limit your ability to move up though.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
>$150k
>$100k
None taken
Not for Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
No
Promote more women into leadership positions

Birchbox

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
75% would recommend
to other women
11/28/16, 3:14 PM

Great place to work! 65% female workplace with high rate of female leadership! Lots of flexibility and compassion to take care of family and childhood needs.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
$100k-$150k
$10k-$20k
8 paid / 4 unpaid
STD covered some of the unpaid time
Yes
No
Yes
Improve my compensation

Amazon

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.1
38%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
32% would recommend
to other women
11/27/16, 8:35 PM

Consider another employer unless you are willing to sacrifice work over family -there is little respect for family time off /a double standard for women at Amazon. It's a super hard environment in general but tougher if you are in senior roles and balancing a family. Be prepared to work 60 hour weeks.

Job Satisfaction Level
2.0
>$150k
>$100k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
No
Culture is male dominated-needs to change from to mgmt or hiring won't be successful

Google

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.8
57%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
65% would recommend
to other women
11/26/16, 6:05 AM

Pretty great as a full-time employee. I've heard less positive reviews from TVCs.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
>$150k
$20k-$50k
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Google

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
0.0
%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
11/26/16, 6:05 AM

Pretty great as a full-time employee. I've heard less positive reviews from TVCs.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
>$150k
$20k-$50k
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Facebook

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
58%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
84% would recommend
to other women
11/24/16, 7:33 PM

Policy towards women varies so much depending on your manager. My last manager ignored systematic bullying and told me he doesn't see gender, it's all merit based *eye roll*. New manager is female and have a shocking 20% women in my org, and can feel the difference. But, discrepancies between orgs are not investigated, there are very few women in leadership roles, especially in engineering, bro culture is strong and in anonymous discussions, things like whether women are actually worse at engineering than men have been openly discussed. Doesn't do much to inspire trust in my male colleagues. Despite tons of diversity promotion, the stats have changed very little. While I realise this is endemic in the valley, it makes a lot of FB's diversity work seem hollow and more about publicity.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
>$150k
$10k-$20k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
Yes
Improve my compensation

Facebook

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
0.0
%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
11/24/16, 7:33 PM

Policy towards women varies so much depending on your manager. My last manager ignored systematic bullying and told me he doesn't see gender, it's all merit based *eye roll*. New manager is female and have a shocking 20% women in my org, and can feel the difference. But, discrepancies between orgs are not investigated, there are very few women in leadership roles, especially in engineering, bro culture is strong and in anonymous discussions, things like whether women are actually worse at engineering than men have been openly discussed. Doesn't do much to inspire trust in my male colleagues. Despite tons of diversity promotion, the stats have changed very little. While I realise this is endemic in the valley, it makes a lot of FB's diversity work seem hollow and more about publicity.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
>$150k
$10k-$20k
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
Yes
Improve my compensation

Samba TV

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
11/11/16, 7:38 PM

They CARE about their people. They care about their business. They care about their impact on the world.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
$100k-$150k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Spotify

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
11/1/16, 2:51 PM

Good work life balance, but sad to see nearly no women at the top. Still a boys club with very little ethnic diversity

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$100k-$150k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

PowerToFly

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
10/25/16, 8:51 PM

Company founded by women and championing more women getting into competitive tech and leadership jobs.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Share with Friends
Share Anonymously