BH Media Group www.bhmginc.com/

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about BH Media Group?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at BH Media Group to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Financial Times

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

The power / decision-making is in London thus regional offices are not the place to be if you're interested in climbing the ladder.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$100k-$150k
$10k-$20k
20 paid / 13 unpaid
This maternity leave policy may no longer be in affect after the company was purchased by Nikkei (sale closed Dec 2015). The UK statutory maternity pay kicks in after the 20 weeks of paid leave from the employer. That lasts for 19 weeks. Then there were 13 weeks of unpaid leave
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

They are very flexible and accommodating to mothers and fathers. Working from home is common for both genders (parents and child-free, both).
Maybe. Depends on the job function and manager...If you join, choose a role on the digital (vs. print) side of the organization.
Improve my compensation

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

Not a great place to advance as a woman. Difficult to hobnob with the bosses, who are all men.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
Hours
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

No
Improve my compensation

The Guardian

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

It's a very fair-minded, progressive company. They value women and female leadership.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$100k-$150k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Yes
Provide more mentorship and learning opportunities.

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
February 2017

To do your job well at Dow Jones in the current culture, you are most definitely expected to sacrifice time with family. Everyone is very pleasant and supportive on the surface, but it's clear that you must be connected to work at all times.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$100k-$150k
Not eligible for bonus
12 paid / 8 unpaid
I had to fight for a promotion I had been promised prior to going on leave. I felt as if I had to re-prove myself upon my return. While everyone was very sweet and supportive on the surface, both my direct report and the head of my department ignored and avoided my requests to work from home on Fridays when transitioning back to work. I was also turned down when I asked to use my accrued paid time off on Fridays for the first 2 months back. I felt really uncomfortable and unstable in the role I had worked very hard over the previous 4 years to earn. I caught the drift and eventually forced myself to act as if I didn't have a child (being available at all times on email, working from home after hours, staying late on a regular basis). It was only then that I was able to secure a promotion. I saw this same pattern, in varying degrees, across other departments as well.
Yes
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

IBT Media

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
February 2017

RUN FAR FAR AWAY. If you like abusive management and men who consistently degrade women unabashedly, then this is the place for you.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$100k-$150k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews
  • 1

  • 2

  • 3

  • 4

  • 5

No
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

GateHouse Media Inc.

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
January 2017

It's a great company but they have work to do on the parental benefits front.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$100k-$150k
$20k-$50k
None taken
I'm preparing to take maternity leave here.
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring
Maybe. The nature of of the work itself is energizing.
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
January 2017

There aren't enough women in senior leadership roles and it remains a very white male (and sometimes alpha) organisation, particularly in the newsroom. But the company does seem to want to change that.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

BBC

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
January 2017

It depends on the team you are in but in general journalism (especially broadcasting) is not a good career for maintaining a good work life balance

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
December 2016

Things are changing, hopefully for the better. This is a work in progress.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
61% would recommend
to other women
November 2016

I have enjoyed the environment here and there are many opportunities for growth.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve my compensation

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Facebook
Twitter
Share with Friends
Share Anonymously