Cimarex Energy Co

https://www.cimarex.com

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Cimarex Energy Co to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

QEP Resources, Inc. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

August 2017

Within specific groups you have growth opportunities, but within others there is a "good ol' boy" culture that does not allow for change.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $10k-$20k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Hiring

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    6 paid / 6 unpaid

    You are required to use all accumulated PTO during your maternity leave. You cannot take extra days in addition to the 12 weeks offered through FMLA, your vacation days are just burned during those 12 weeks.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. The culture varies from group to group. I would recommend some groups over others, but generally I would lean towards no.

BP Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

43%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

August 2017

Diversity is valued, and there is a push to promote women. However they are promoted in non technical roles usually

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    $10k-$20k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    Low in the US

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

XTO Energy Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

August 2017

While I don't feel that this is the culture at Exxon (and we won't be in Fort Worth for much longer), XTO still works on the "good ol' boy" system. I am a married woman who doesn't want children, and I am viewed as cold and less "womanly" by other women. Male managers (not my current manager - I will say he is a good one) still, in 2017, make snide remarks about how they don't believe I don't want children (actually just none of their business, but if it involves potential maternity leave, they think it is). I am darned if I do and darned if I don't. The women who have seen success at XTO are those who already have children.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. I don't believe the pay gap is anywhere near as wide as it was before we were purchased by Exxon. Before that, it was well beyond the 70-something percent that you always hear quoted. Now, it still might not be as bad as the rest of the O&G industry, but it very much still exists, and it is most obvious when men are promoted above women when women perform better. They have a few women that they have picked to be in the spotlight, and that's wonderful. But for the general female population here, we are still lagging behind.

BP Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

43%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

July 2017

Beware the creepers! If you're uncomfortable, tell your manager and/ or district manger!

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Could definitely use better employees!

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

Noble Energy Inc. Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.4

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

There is limited opportunity for career growth here for women. The men have developed and use their internal network to achieve promotions and raises while excuses are made for why qualified women's careers lag behind.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $10k-$20k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

    Work from home is only allowed on occasion and is frowned upon.

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

BP Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

43%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

July 2017

Most women in leadership try to lead as men, so that they feel they have more power and can achieve more. Competition between peers is savage. Most of the time you will be frustrated by the fact that no matter how great you work and your annual evaluations are, you won't move in the direction you want or you think you deserve. You are a piece of chess. Basically they say much, don't do as much as they say.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Support employee development. Have more flexibility for employees to move to other positions instead of blocking them to apply and broaden their experience, hence their expertise

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Apache Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

If you take a job here document everything that happens to you.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $20k-$50k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    No

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Chevron Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

52%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

55%

would recommend
to other women

July 2017

Male dominated and traditional, as is the oil and gas industry. Generally, the perception is that it is better for women in California and certain corporate groups but given its large, decentralized nature, it is very dependent on local management.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $20k-$50k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

    It really depends on which group you are in. Most managers are males whose wives haven't worked outside the home, however, so there is a tendency to not be that flexible.

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    8 paid / 18 unpaid

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. It depends on your group as to the flexibility although if you are in a corporate job you have the option of having every other Friday off through a compressed work schedule. Health insurance and maternity/parental leave are abysmal however for such a large multinational. Chevron actually doesn't have a maternity leave policy--mothers are put on paid disability for either 6 weeks (vaginal delivery) or 8 weeks (caesarean delivery). You can then take up to 6 months unpaid leave.

Chesapeake Energy Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

July 2017

It's oil and gas so you need a thick skin and CHK is dominated by straight, white men. Naturally, some are more progressive than others but the company has systematically rolled back family-friendly benefits since Doug Lawler became CEO. There are some great and inspiring women in leadership and there are those that will use you to advance their careers. Be sure to observe who is well-respected vs. "gets the job" done. This observation will be crucial when you develop relationships internally.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    $10k-$20k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    No

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

    Again, it depends on the department. While I didn't work in accounting, I had colleagues that did that indicated there was a lack of flexibility.

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    6 paid / unpaid

    I had 6 paid weeks and then could take up to 8 weeks on a part-time schedule working 24-30 hours a week. This has since changed to my understanding.

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. It would be dependent on which department. It's oil and gas and there's a prevailing "good ole' boy" system to overcome.

Exxon Mobil Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.1

29%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

53%

would recommend
to other women

June 2017

Official policies are great; some "local" cultures are very welcoming to women. But male:female ratio is extremely skewed, and you will often be the only woman in the room. That can make it hard to be heard, and taken seriously.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $20k-$50k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Be more explicit about promoting a more inclusive culture.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously