Corrections Corporation Of America

www.cca.com/

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Corrections Corporation Of America to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

CSRA Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

67%

might recommend
to other women

August 2017

It's generally a good place to work and has good benefits. But like in most male dominated companies, where men hold a majority of senior and executive positions, there will be subtle discrimination, such as lack of trust and difficulty fitting in.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    Yes

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    The quality and type of work that I can do.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. It's a flexible place to work and good culture in general. Women are treated respectfully and there are women in senior positions. However it may not be a good fit for everyone. Also when there is stress or friction (e.g profit loss, problems with clients) then women get put on the spot. I'm not saying it's done intentionally and it's not something that can be measured for sure but it does seem like senior women are held to a higher standard than men and punished more when things go wrong. Also, as in most companies where most of the top positions are held by males, there is sometimes a lack of trust in women and difficulty fitting in.

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

August 2017

Make sure you have a good understanding of employment law, discrimination in the workplace and know when it's time to file a claim with EEOC.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Hiring

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

Make sure your manager treats men and women equally, negotiate additional benefits as the standard benefits package is not very competitive with industry or competitors in the same space. Confirm that your role has growth opportunities and that the team you work with is qualified for the job.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

    This is obviously manager-dependent but I have noticed a lot of micromanaging and lack of flexibility at Engility. Short of a family or medical emergency, management doesn't like it when employees have appointments or need to flex hours. I have seen management come in to "check in" when they are off on vacation for a week - there's little trust in personnel without any justification.

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Benefits, compensation, opportunities for women to succeed, change culture of a male-focused business, create a cohesive and flexible work environment

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2017

Massive org changes and leadership shift, layoffs and RIF, rehired with friends

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • CEO supports Gender Diversity?

    I'm not sure

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Hiring

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

March 2017

The male- dominated ex-military culture results in a an environment where women are not paid as much as their male counterparts, and there are few women in leadership positions.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Level of Flexibility

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

December 2016

The promotions are very unequal. Don't let the female CEO fool you. In addition, the time off and working arrangements are very unflexible.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

Briljent Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

November 2016

Speak up. You don't get what you don't ask for.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    On my team, I think it would help to be clear about our expectations of each other and the roles we play. I would prefer to not be the one taking care of the logistics and details forever- at some point I want to focus more big-picture as the men on my team currently get to do. I am not actually detail-oriented- I'm just expected to be because I'm a woman.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. We are a woman-owned business with many women in leadership roles, but we are also fairly gendered in our dividing of work responsibilities. Women are often expected to take care of the administrative and logistical elements of the work as well as the emotional labor of the office.

Engility Corporation Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

July 2016

Female management is terrible, I was literally told by female manager to get a better offer from another company to be considered for a raise. The company has no value in employees and very little to women equality. I left to work for better company and the 2nd person was a much younger pompus male who also left because he knew he couldn't trust our female manager. She was poison trying to gain approval of male management.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus

    $0-$10k

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

The Columbia Group Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2016

This company is very flexible with hours and very supportive of women who are pregnant and families in general with young children. The downside is they are on the lower end of the compensation scale, and while they offer STD for pregnancy, it only covers about 60% of your pay. My advice, if you want to work for them, is only accept a compensation package that you would be happy with (with receiving a signficant raise) for several years.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

CSRA Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

67%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

67%

might recommend
to other women

May 2016

It's a good place to work if you're raising a family. I had several coworkers, both male and female, that were able to leave early to pick up their kids or whatever.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. I haven't worked for CSRA since they were part of CSC. At that time the organization was mismanaged but things may have improved since then.

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously