FREE 7 Day Access to WSJ.com Sign up today and receive a free week

Lone Star College System

www.lonestar.edu

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Lone Star College System to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Texas Woman's University Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

Understand not only the overall culture, but the team and supervisor you are working with.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    They don't offer anything over required FMLA

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Even though flex scheduling policies are in place, it depends on the function of your position and how your supervisor or the leader of your unit/department decides to implement them. Overall, culture is leaning into work-life balance, but it is not a given in all circumstances.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Boston University Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.3

75%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

The employer is huge and employs different types employees. Administative employees in my department have plenty of flexibility and work life balance.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not much; it's a great place to work

Columbia University Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

69%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

77%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

I would ask very specific questions of the department you would be working in during the interview stage. Ask about culture, how they support employee work-life balance. The overall hours are not bad, but if you want a flexible work arrangement, it is not going to happen in the department I worked in.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    6 paid / 4 unpaid

    There was only disability leave (6 to 8 weeks) when I took maternity leave.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    You can "work from home" once in a while for a dr's appointment, but don't expect much more than that.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. In one particular department, I was treated very unfairly after asking for a flexible work position.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Babson College Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.5

50%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

Overall great experience. There is opportunity for flexibility and work/life balance. Not a lot of opportunity for growth/development if used to the corporate environment.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    8 paid / 4 unpaid

    Was able to use my vacation against the unpaid weeks. Really easy process and current boss was flexible with my return.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Depends on role and department

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

University of Virginia Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

50%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

It depends on your boss. Mine was fantastic and supportive.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not much; it's a great place to work

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.7

33%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

Overall, the University gets good ratings for equality. It's important to look at the specific divisions.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    >$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Some of the divisions and departments appear to be better than others. Leadership is a crucial factor. Baseline benefits are equal between men and women.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    The likelihood that I will leave has more to do with the current US political situation than my job. If the US weren't imploding (or if I don't get the overseas job I am applying for), I'd be more likely to stay and fight it out.

Johnson & Wales University Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

May 2017

Good benefits, but not much room for negotiating salary or promotions.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    6 paid / unpaid

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. A good place to have a family due to great medical benefits and relatively understanding culture when it comes to family obligations.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

NC State University Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.7

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

67%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

I work in administration, and this is just like every other higher education institution I've worked for. I don't feel that women and men are treated differently, and there are lots of women in senior and management roles.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    This depends on where you work, but my department provides little flexibility.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Brookdale Community College Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

They are great about offering classes to work around raising a family.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $0-$25k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    I'm part time so I was not eligible for paid leave.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Wagner College Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

You can not beat the benefits. Free tuition for your children is a gift. I understand that the trade-off is a salary on the lower end of the scale, but after your children graduate, the pay is still at the same level.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously