be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Maxim to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

New Scientist Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

it's a great atmosphere, but those people at the top are men, and they are the ones making the decisions

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    20 paid / 13 unpaid

    i took shared parental leave with my husband, so I did 8 months and he 5

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    flexibility is the exception rather than the rule

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Thrillist Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

March 2017

You're going to need to fight for your voice to be heard and your ideas to be taken seriously, moreso than dudes. It's very much an Old Boys' Club where the men who've been at the company the longest get carte blanche for their ideas, and women get steamrolled.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Thrillist is unionizing and that means things might change in terms of diversity initiatives eventually, but as is I don't have a ton of faith in them to treat women equally.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Outside Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

March 2017

It can be great as long as your expectations are set before accepting the job. Mid-management is equal and family friendly but a lot of archaic culture trickles down from exec levels.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    flexibility depends on what office you're in and who you report to...

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Entrepreneur Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

March 2017

I would definitely recommend another woman to be self employed if that was her desire.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    I'm self employed.

E.republic Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

There are mostly women working there. Period. But there is nothing particularly family friendly etc.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

    The company doesn't pay you for leave but I got $ through the state.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Viva Lifestyle And Travel Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

February 2017

The CEO will hire and promote women who talk and act like men.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Change leadership culture and replace the CEO.

Entrepreneur Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

January 2017

self-employed so i do not have anything to put here thanks

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Not much; it's a great place to work

XO Group Inc Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

December 2016

There is a policy that disallows a work from home schedule.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $10k-$20k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    10 paid / 2 unpaid

    This has recently changed to 12 weeks full pay

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

XO Group Inc Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

33%

would recommend
to other women

November 2016

Men tend to do better at this company, not because they are men, but because they spend more time working.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    8 paid / 4 unpaid

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Depends on department and office location

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Rolling Stone Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

0%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would not recommend
to other women

October 2016

Before I say anything else I want to be clear that I did really love working here and did really enjoy my job. But I also want to make it clear that it is extremely difficult for women to break into editorial jobs at the magazine. During my many years there, there were only two female editors. And neither were ever given an office. It's a very male-dominated culture, and I don't see that changing anytime soon. Again, I worked with some extremely talented people, and on a day-to-day basis I was usually very happy. But I would say to any woman considering working there: Go in with your eyes open. Get experience, put the name on your resume, and then move on. As for work/life balance, there is very little. The hours are long (as is standard for publishing), and there is no flexibilty with hours or working offsite (although the online department may offer some ability to work from home, not sure).

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $80k-$100k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    >$100k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    7 paid / 5 unpaid

    The company offered 12 weeks maternity leave, but only seven weeks were paid. Six weeks of those seven were paid as part of short-term disability leave (though they were paid at full salary). Since there is a week before disability pay kicks in, they use a weeks' worth of your (10) sick days to cover the first week of your leave. If you had to stop working early, they would take that time out of your 12 weeks. (To be fair, although that is the actual policy, they did let me work from home the week leading up to my due date.) You can also choose to use your vacation days as part of your leave, although you will not receive that pay until you return to work.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Promotion, Hiring

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Promote more women into leadership positions

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously