Surfline www.surfline.com

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Surfline?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Surfline to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
60% would recommend
to other women
2/15/17, 5:58 AM

Not a great place to advance as a woman. Difficult to hobnob with the bosses, who are all men.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
Hours
No
Improve my compensation

The Guardian

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
2/14/17, 6:50 PM

It's a very fair-minded, progressive company. They value women and female leadership.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$100k-$150k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Provide more mentorship and learning opportunities.

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
60% would recommend
to other women
2/4/17, 8:43 PM

To do your job well at Dow Jones in the current culture, you are most definitely expected to sacrifice time with family. Everyone is very pleasant and supportive on the surface, but it's clear that you must be connected to work at all times.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$100k-$150k
Not eligible for bonus
12 paid / 8 unpaid
I had to fight for a promotion I had been promised prior to going on leave. I felt as if I had to re-prove myself upon my return. While everyone was very sweet and supportive on the surface, both my direct report and the head of my department ignored and avoided my requests to work from home on Fridays when transitioning back to work. I was also turned down when I asked to use my accrued paid time off on Fridays for the first 2 months back. I felt really uncomfortable and unstable in the role I had worked very hard over the previous 4 years to earn. I caught the drift and eventually forced myself to act as if I didn't have a child (being available at all times on email, working from home after hours, staying late on a regular basis). It was only then that I was able to secure a promotion. I saw this same pattern, in varying degrees, across other departments as well.
Yes
No
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

IBT Media

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
1.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would not recommend
to other women
2/1/17, 4:09 PM

RUN FAR FAR AWAY. If you like abusive management and men who consistently degrade women unabashedly, then this is the place for you.

Job Satisfaction Level
1.0
$100k-$150k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews
No
No
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

GateHouse Media Inc.

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
1/28/17, 2:24 PM

It's a great company but they have work to do on the parental benefits front.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$100k-$150k
$20k-$50k
None taken
I'm preparing to take maternity leave here.
Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring
No
Maybe. The nature of of the work itself is energizing.
Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
60% would recommend
to other women
1/25/17, 5:14 PM

There aren't enough women in senior leadership roles and it remains a very white male (and sometimes alpha) organisation, particularly in the newsroom. But the company does seem to want to change that.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

BBC

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
1/1/17, 6:44 PM

It depends on the team you are in but in general journalism (especially broadcasting) is not a good career for maintaining a good work life balance

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
60% would recommend
to other women
12/24/16, 2:31 AM

Things are changing, hopefully for the better. This is a work in progress.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

Dow Jones

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
48%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
60% would recommend
to other women
11/10/16, 6:56 PM

I have enjoyed the environment here and there are many opportunities for growth.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
$0-$10k
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve my compensation

New York Times

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.3
33%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
33% would recommend
to other women
10/18/16, 1:42 PM

It's a very political place and very competitive. I have found some women in leadership roles are conscious of helping other women, but unfortunately just as many are only looking out for themselves.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$80k-$100k
$0-$10k
16 paid / 44 unpaid
I was employed in France, where there are generous parental leave laws.
Yes
No
Yes
Improve my compensation

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Share with Friends
Share Anonymously