Wake Forest University www.wfu.edu

Want to be alerted when there are new data and reviews about Wake Forest University?
Add Alert

be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Wake Forest University to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

Stanford University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.7
71%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
71% would recommend
to other women
2/22/17, 4:36 PM

The building I work in has about a 50/50 ratio, so Stanford is definitely hiring women in my area of campus. I am fortunate to have wonderful colleagues who support each other. If it was not for the welcoming community, then I would have left two months into employment (like I said, my supervisor is not the easiest person but I think the relationship has improved). Stanford has an active sexual harassment and discrimination office and offers mandatory training for all incoming employees. Supervisors are required to take a special class on sexual harassment (they are in a position of power). Lastly, many of my colleagues are parents, married or about to be married. Given my experiences, I would suggest Stanford to other women.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
No
Yes
Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Northeastern University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.8
25%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
25% would recommend
to other women
2/21/17, 4:06 AM

Make sure you have the benefits and try to get a good idea of who your boss is before getting hired.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$0-$25k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
Yes
Improve my compensation

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
2/17/17, 5:57 AM

A lot depends on what department you're working for, and who your boss is.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$0-$25k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours
Yes
Improve my compensation

Duke University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.2
40%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
40% would recommend
to other women
2/14/17, 11:23 PM

You won't have to work on weekends, and there are interesting people there, but you'll also be around staff who are just phoning it in.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
6 paid / unpaid
They used disability benefits to pay for maternity leave. I also used my vacation time. Maybe that's normal?
Yes
Hours, Culture
Yes
Improve my compensation

Columbia University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.6
64%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
82% would recommend
to other women
2/14/17, 8:20 PM

Please see previous responses listed above, which outlines some of the topics I would discuss with other women.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion
Hours, Culture
Yes
promotion, pay, and a voice in meetings; feel like female leadership is talked down to constantly and their opinions don't matter (which is something I've witnessed in these meetings).

Indiana University Of Pennsylvania

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% might recommend
to other women
2/13/17, 8:50 PM

Don't let the "boys club" rule! Challenge any level of bias against women and demand transparency within your department! Transparency and oversight is the only way women will get ahead.

Job Satisfaction Level
3.0
$80k-$100k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews
No
Maybe. If you're a professor or lower-level staff as well, you'll be covered by a union. The union gives a certan level of protection from unfair treatment. We've never had a university president however in part because it is still a male-dominated world. The male professors who were involved in interviewing candidates for the latest opening said the woman candidate was too boastful because she said she knew she could do a good job.
Promote more women into leadership positions

Seattle Pacific University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0
100%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
2/13/17, 3:03 AM

The bosses support both work life and personal life, they truly care about their workers and create a family environment.

Job Satisfaction Level
5.0
$0-$25k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Yes
Hours, Culture
Yes
Promote more women into leadership positions

University of la Verne

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.0
50%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
50% would recommend
to other women
2/9/17, 12:32 AM

Great benefits including free tuition for immediate family, 10% matching contribution to retirement

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
6 paid / 6 unpaid
My maternity leave hours were deducted from vacation time. Maternity leave is good but not breaking through any boundaries.
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Improve my compensation

University Of Louisiana Monroe

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0
0%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
100% would recommend
to other women
2/8/17, 6:30 PM

You have to demand a seat at the table with all of the men.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$50k-$80k
Not eligible for bonus
None taken
Not for Pay, Promotion, Evaluation and Reviews
Hours
Yes
Improve my compensation

Rutgers University

Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.7
67%say women are treated fairly
and equally to men
67% would recommend
to other women
2/6/17, 1:14 AM

As a graduate student, I've had a great experience at Rutgers, but experiences are very advisor-dependent.

Job Satisfaction Level
4.0
$25k-$50k
Not eligible for bonus
14 paid / unpaid
This was when I was employed as a TA. When I was a fellow, I was allowed to take off as much time as I felt was reasonable (ended up being 6-8 weeks I believe).
Yes
Hours, Culture, Policies
Yes
Not much; it's a great place to work

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share this

Share with Friends
Share Anonymously