be the first to review this company!

Add a Review

Our members add new reviews every day. Invite someone who's worked at Washington Post to join us.

In the meantime, see recently reviewed companies in the same industry:

New York Post Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
2.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

June 2017

Flexibility isn't an issue, but budget is. Don't expect a raise, even if you kick ass at your job.

Job Satisfaction Level

2.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. I don't think any of the issues here are gender-related. There's just poor management across the board, some of which is from female managers.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Calkins Media Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
5.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

might recommend
to other women

June 2017

Family oriented but also traditional company still adjusting to modern day work policies.

Job Satisfaction Level

5.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Depends on department.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. No paid maternity leave.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my benefits (e.g. medical, maternity)

The Huffington Post Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

75%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

50%

would recommend
to other women

June 2017

Depends on your department. Lots of women, but very clique-y.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $25k-$50k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Everything Brooklyn Media Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

May 2017

Women and men are treated as complete equals and are promoted based on skill and experience. There are women in leadership positions and the company culture is very welcoming and inclusive.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Culture

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    It depends on your position, but the hours can be very long and there sometimes isn't much opportunity to work remotely or to have a flexible schedule.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Gannett Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

57%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

43%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

Gannett is in a constant flux keeping up with the market and competitors. Prioritization clarity lacking. Career growth path lacking. Never faced disparity due to gender. Though remote workers have to make an extra extra effort to stand out.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Dow Jones Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

47%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

61%

would recommend
to other women

April 2017

It's a good place to work, especially the health benefits and maternity leave compared to many other places. However, there aren't many flexible policies as working from home is not encouraged in many departments.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    12 paid / unpaid

    I was able to take an additional 3 months unpaid, but still received my health care benefit (although I had to pay that back later for the months I was unpaid.)

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    Working from home should be a more regular option for editors and desk reporters.

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Financial Times Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.5

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

50%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

The power / decision-making is in London thus regional offices are not the place to be if you're interested in climbing the ladder.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $10k-$20k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    20 paid / 13 unpaid

    This maternity leave policy may no longer be in affect after the company was purchased by Nikkei (sale closed Dec 2015). The UK statutory maternity pay kicks in after the 20 weeks of paid leave from the employer. That lasts for 19 weeks. Then there were 13 weeks of unpaid leave

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

    They are very flexible and accommodating to mothers and fathers. Working from home is common for both genders (parents and child-free, both).

  • Recommend to Women?

    Maybe. Depends on the job function and manager...If you join, choose a role on the digital (vs. print) side of the organization.

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

Dow Jones Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

47%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

61%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

Not a great place to advance as a woman. Difficult to hobnob with the bosses, who are all men.

Job Satisfaction Level

1.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $50k-$80k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Not for Pay, Promotion, Hiring, Evaluation and Reviews

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    No

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve my compensation

The Guardian Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
4.0

100%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

100%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

It's a very fair-minded, progressive company. They value women and female leadership.

Job Satisfaction Level

4.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    $0-$10k

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    None taken

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Family Friendly Aspects

    Hours, Culture, Policies

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Provide more mentorship and learning opportunities.

Dow Jones Women's Job Satisfaction (5=very satisfied)
3.3

47%

say women are treated fairly
and equally to men

61%

would recommend
to other women

February 2017

To do your job well at Dow Jones in the current culture, you are most definitely expected to sacrifice time with family. Everyone is very pleasant and supportive on the surface, but it's clear that you must be connected to work at all times.

Job Satisfaction Level

3.0
  • Recent Salary (USD)

    $100k-$150k

  • Recent Bonus (USD)

    Not eligible for bonus

  • Took Maternity Leave Here? (Weeks)

    12 paid / 8 unpaid

    I had to fight for a promotion I had been promised prior to going on leave. I felt as if I had to re-prove myself upon my return. While everyone was very sweet and supportive on the surface, both my direct report and the head of my department ignored and avoided my requests to work from home on Fridays when transitioning back to work. I was also turned down when I asked to use my accrued paid time off on Fridays for the first 2 months back. I felt really uncomfortable and unstable in the role I had worked very hard over the previous 4 years to earn. I caught the drift and eventually forced myself to act as if I didn't have a child (being available at all times on email, working from home after hours, staying late on a regular basis). It was only then that I was able to secure a promotion. I saw this same pattern, in varying degrees, across other departments as well.

  • Are Women and Men Treated Equally?

    Yes

  • Flexibility of the employer

    1 2 3 4 5

  • Recommend to Women?

    Yes

  • One Thing Employer Could Improve

    Improve work-life balance and policies (e.g. flex-time, limit face time)

Find Out

What are women saying about your company?

Click Here

Share This

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Share with Friends
  • Share Anonymously